Max Lüscher Color Test

Regardless of the theories that attempt to explain color-emotion ties, the color preferences tested have been shown to be fairly constant and reliable in their abilities to give insight and commentary on our inner life.

Color Test

Choose the color you like best and mark this card with #1. Then, choose among the remaining cards the color, which you now like best and mark it as #2, and thus, continues until all the cards have been taken.

Max Lüscher Color Test

Lüscher Color Test Analysis and Interpretation

The four basic colors are yellow, blue, red, green and they are the psychological primaries; the four auxiliary colors are violet, brown, black, and gray.

Colors are interpreted based on their position:


1st - 2nd symbolizes optimistic temperament; longing for liberation.
3rd - 4th symbolizes disappointment.
5th - 6th means that the subject feels isolated or separated from others.
7th - 8th means fear of disappointment.


1st - 2nd symbolizes wishes for harmony.
3rd - 4th symbolizes a state of harmony already reached.
5th - 6th means that the INDIVIDUAL does not see that his desire for harmony can actually be realized.
7th - 8th means that the desire for harmony is repressed.


1st - 2nd symbolizes the desire for activity.
3rd - 4th symbolizes effective activity.
5th - 6th means slowed activity.
7th - 8th means refusal of all activity.


1st - 2nd symbolizes desire for self-affirmation.
3rd - 4th symbolizes self-affirmation achieved.
5th - 6th means need to adapt.
7th - 8th means dependency.


1st - 2nd symbolizes vanity.
3rd - 4th symbolizes sensitivity.
5th - 6th means empathic capacity.
7th - 8th means that the desire for mystical intimacy with another has been abandoned or suppressed due to the apparent impossibility of being realized or due to totally inappropriate conditions.


1st - 2nd symbolizes desire to satisfy bodily needs.
3rd - 4th symbolizes increasing need for physical well-being and sensual satisfaction to get rid of some situation that carries with it a feeling of discomfort.
5th - 6th means to put aside activities that involve satisfaction of sexual needs.
7th - 8th means refusal of bodily needs.


If the black is in the first half of the test and especially in the first three places, an extreme compensatory behavior is manifested. Whoever takes the black as the first option, wants to renounce everything as an inflexible protest against the current structure in which they feel that nothing is as it should be.

The color black in the second option, is for a person who feels capable of giving up everything, as long as he has what is represented in the color that he places first in the row.

Black in third place demands that the colors in the first two places provide adequate offsets.

Assigning the eighth place to black color is the most frequent statistically; it represents a more or less normal desire not to abandon anything and to be in control of one's actions and decisions.


Anyone who chooses gray color in the first place, wants to close in on himself to remain uncompromising and impartial, so that he can protect himself from any outside influence or stimulus. He isolates himself from any direct collaboration, he does things in a mechanical and artificial way. The gray color in this position is completely compensatory and is an attempt to improve with lack of delivery.

A person who chooses gray in second place divides the world: One part consists of the compensating and exaggerated area represented by the color in the first place. The second part consists essentially of all the other options, as represented by the colors that he defends himself against or suppresses for anxiety that he could become involved in them.

Even with gray in the third position is the imbalance between the favorite colors in the two first places and the colors after the grey so loaded with tension that the first two colors should be interpreted as compensations and thus obsessive substitutes for imperfections or defects, and the anxiety arising from them.

The gray color in the first three places contains an important self-deception aspect. The colors that appear first before and after gray, with respect to the first to the second selection when repeating the test, indicates that there is a state of tension.

The person who chooses gray color in the last place (Eighth), wants to finish everything, rejects the absence of commitment and feels that he has to do in everything that happens around him with the result that others consider him intrusive and indiscreet.

Gray occurs statistically most frequently in the sixth position, but it can be moved to fifth and seventh places without meaning anything important. In any other position it is significant. In situations of exhaustion, emptiness or blood pressure (such as before an exam) the gray color tends to travel forward.

The full Lüscher Test has 73 colors, 25 hues and shades, and 43 choices.

Complete Analysis and Interpretation of Lüscher Color Test

Reasoning Exercises - Types

We use our own and third-party cookies for statistics and personalized advertising.
If you continue browsing, we assume that you accept their use. X +Info